Is Raymond Marcus buying your domains too?

June 8th, 2009 by Shara Grifenhagen | Category: Spam Favorites | 7 Comments »

Peter Wang is really worried about the Commtouch domain. He sent us the very official-looking email seen below (complete with spelling and grammar mistakes) warning us that some guy “named ‘raymond marcus’ wanted to applied for the Internet brand ‘commtouch’ and some domain names through” their body.

08-jun-09-13-51-031

I’m not even really sure what that means. Raymond made an inquiry into taking over the Commtouch brand? It’s awfully nice of Mr. Wang to let us know.

We here at Commtouch took this warning very very seriously. Amir Lev, our CTO and president, immediately responded to grant Mr. Marcus permission to register domains. After all, any illegal descendant of Ferdinand Marcos who wants to take over the interwebs should be given free reign.

No?

So…can we get a cut of his inheritance?

08-jun-09-13-54-58

In the end, Peter just wants us to get nervous about “Raymond Marcus” (who most likely doesn’t really exist) and his plan to buy up our domain name. Peter is hoping that we are not smart enough to realize the trick — he wants us to call him up and give him money to buy our own domain before the fictitious Raymond does.

Thanks for lookin’ out for us, Peter! We’re going to pass this time…

Share and Enjoy:
  • email
  • Print
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • FriendFeed
  • del.icio.us
  • Google Bookmarks
  • LinkedIn
  • Technorati
  • Yahoo! Bookmarks
  • Reddit
 
  • Erika

    His colleague “Andy Lau” shared similiar concerns, warning me that Raymond was after my domain (360reputation.com) as well. I don’t typically fall for scams since google first and in this case, wanted to thank you for your post since it made the scam clear within seconds!

  • Coach

    Just received exactly the same mail (same wording, same orthographic mistakes) by some Andy Lau regarding my domain name ‘meincoach’. I think I’m going to confirm your statement regarding the identiy of Raymond Marcus…
    Rgds

  • P Allinson

    Raymond Marcus is a very busy person !! When we asked who Raymond represented we were told he was from NZ and that was all they could give us….

    Dear Manger,

    We are a professional Internet consultant organization in Asia, which mainly deal with the global companies’ domain name registration and internet intellectual property right protection. Currently, we have a pretty important issue needing to confirm with your company.

    On 2009-06-12, we received an application formally, one person named “raymond marcus’ wanted to applied for the Internet brand “enviroballs” and some domain names through our body.

    During our preliminary investigation,we found that these domain names, keyword and internet brand is identical with your trademark. I wonder whether you consigned “raymond marcus” to register these domain names through us or not? Or is “raymond marcus” your business partner or distributor in Asia? Currently, we have postponed this application of this company temporarily already. In order to deal with this issue better, please let the principal make a confirmation with me by telephone or email ASAP.

    In addition, I must state that we have time limited for one person or one company’s registration. It is just 15 days. If your company files doesn’t resent within the time limited. We will unconditionally authorized the application of “raymond marcus”.

    Thank you for your cooperate.

    Best Regards,
    Joyce Guo
    Registration Commissioner

  • Chris Rolph

    Hi I received the same e-mail re Raymond Marcus this week but mine was from Joyce Guo. I thought it was a scam to make you buy domains anyway but would like to thank you for featuring this on your site to confirm this for me…

    Would you like a copy of my e-mail too?

    Cheers

    Chris

  • Shara Grifenhagen

    We’d love a copy of your email! I will contact you offline with contact details.
    Thanks!

    Shara

  • Juanjo

    We received the same e-mail and I found this article trough Google. It’s really useful.

    Is really funny to imagine a raymond marcus as a superman, he is the king of internet domains.

    I hope he tries to do it with the domain “worldwidenetwork.hk” ;)

    Thank you so much!

    Juanjo

  • Alex

    We are getting the same emails. Our president responded rather harshly, but Sharon ya and now Allen ya have responded with:

    Dear Sir,

    You do not strive for a preferential power to register. We have no other choice. We just can keep the domain name for you until 12-07-2009. We just can get the preferential registration for you within 5 workdays. If you do not register these domain names within 5 workdays, we can only offer the third party registration after receiving their application again. We had helped you. We are not responsible for any dispute question about intellectual property right and trade mark after they succeed in registration. Pls give your definitude direction soonest

    Best Regards,
    Allen ya
    Registration Commissioner

    How nice of them…

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.